Awards and Recognition

The calendar year 2016-2017 marked the 13th opportunity to use the Standards Program as a basis for the Fraternity and Sorority Life Department Awards. The students who authored the Standards Program offered their community the following challenge:

Have Integrity, Be Accountable, Seek Distinction.

This year, we recognized 30 chapters who achieved excellence and distinction in one or more of the fraternity and sorority community’s ten shared principles. Awards were determined by reviewing materials submitted in the chapter Standards Program binders. Any chapter who met or exceeded the standard for the ten shared principles was eligiblefor an award.

A panel of eight reviewed the binders and narrowed the eligible chapters to the top five to eight per shared principle, and presented awards to the top one to four chapters per principle. Both quantity and quality of programming was taken into consideration. Awards were given for outstanding performance in each of the ten shared principles, and to one fraternity and one sorority for overall excellence. Councils also recognized top-performing chapters based on various qualifications.


Please see the links below to nominate outstanding individuals for this year’s 2016-2017 Awards:

excellencelogoStandards of Excellence Awards

Fraternity and Sorority of the Year 2017

  • Fraternity – Sigma Nu
  • Sorority – Delta Gamma

Past Fraternity and Sorority of the Year Winners

  • Fraternity
    • 2017 – Sigma Nu
    • 2016 – Alpha Gamma Rho
    • 2015 – Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
    • 2014 – Lambda Chi Alpha
    • 2013 – Delta Upsilon and Sigma Chi
    • 2012 – Epsilon Chi Nu
    • 2011 – Phi Sigma Nuaka
    • 2010 – Sigma Phi Epsilon
    • 2009 – Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
    • 2008 – Delta Upsilon
    • 2007 – Alpha Tau Omega
    • 2006 – FarmHouse
    • 2005 – FIJI
  • Sorority
    • 2017 – Delta Gamma
    • 2016 – Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
    • 2015 – Delta Gamma
    • 2014 – Delta Gamma
    • 2013 – Alpha Kappa Alpha and Zeta Tau Alphaagr
    • 2012 – Delta Zeta
    • 2011 – Alpha Delta Pi
    • 2010 – Zeta Tau Alpha
    • 2009 and 2010 – Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
    • 2009 – Delta Zeta
    • 2008 – Delta Gamma
    • 2007 – Delta Zeta
    • 2006 – Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
    • 2005 – Lambda Pi Chi

2017 Standards of Excellence Ceremony Presentation

Outstanding Alumni/Graduate Chapter Relations

  • Alpha Gamma Rho
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
  • Tau Kappa Epsilon

Outstanding Campus Leadership and Involvement

  • Kappa Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.
  • Lambda Pi Chi Sorority, Inc.
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

Outstanding Council Involvement

  • Alpha Phi Gamma
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
  • Phi Delta Theta
  • Theta Nu Xi Multicultural Sorority, Inc.

Outstanding Educational Programming

  • Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Kappa Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.
  • Lambda Pi Chi Sorority, Inc.

Outstanding Financial Management

  • Alpha Phi Gamma
  • Lambda Chi Alpha
  • Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Outstanding Leadership Training

  • Alpha Gamma Rho
  • Kappa Delta
  • Kappa Kappa Gamma
  • Lambda Chi Alpha
Outstanding Membership Development

  • Alpha Gamma Rho
  • Kappa Alpha Theta
  • Lambda Pi Chi Sorority, Inc.

Outstanding Risk Management

  • Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Sigma Kappa

Outstanding Scholarship/Academics

  • Alpha Delta Pi
  • Alpha Epsilon Pi
  • Beta Theta Pi
  • Delta Zeta


  • Kappa Delta
  • Phi Delta Theta
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
  • Theta Nu Xi Multicultural Sorority, Inc.

Most Improved

  • Sigma Nu

Sustainability Award

  • Delta Gamma

Council-Based Awards

Multicultural Greek Council Chapter of the Year

  • Awarded to Lambda Pi Chi Sorority, Inc.

 Interfraternity Council Caldwell Cup

  • Awarded to Alpha Epsilon Pi
  • Caldwell Chapters: Alpha Epsilon Pi, Alpha Gamma Rho, Lambda Chi Alpha, Phi Delta Theta, and Sigma Nu

National Pan-Hellenic Council Thorpe Award

  • Awarded to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.opp

Panhellenic Association Sopher Cup

  • Awarded to Kappa Delta
  • Sopher Chapters : Delta Gamma, Delta Zeta, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Delta, and Zeta Tau Alpha